Frank Frazetta Tribute Exhibition

Tribute to Frank Frazetta Group Art Exhibition
Master Artist Frank Frazetta defined 20th Century Fantasy Art
Open Call for Artist Submissions

Artists will reinterpret and pay homage to the grand master of fantasy art Frank Frazetta.
Create a piece that is evocative of Frank's work but not a carbon copy or literal rendition of it. It must convey the essence of his distinctive work. Frank's compositions were strong and based on classical principles, masterpieces of energy and color. Epic and powerful. Images must be more than just a repaint of a reference image. Size and media are unlimited.  Multiple submissions are allowed.

Artists will retain all copyrights to their submitted works.
Submissions & Deadlines:

Final entry deadline: December 15th, 2010.
All final entries to be emailed in high res 300dpi format.

All entries will be presented to a judging panel of industry peers for final selections for inclusion in the exhibition.
Judging panel currently consists of:

Jon Schindehette, Creative Art Director of Wizards of the Coast
Master Artist Simon Bisley
Paul Hellard, Editor CG Society & Assistant Editor Ballistic Publishing
Master Artist Gerald Brom
Arnie & Cathy Fenner, Publishers, Spectrum Fantastic Art Books
Veronika Kotlajic, Curator of Gallery Provocateur & Art Muse

Submissions to be sent to:

After selections are made, artists will be notified. Artists will be responsible for meeting gallery deadlines for artwork arrival, additional biography information for website and inbound/outbound shipping of work to gallery & a $25 entry fee for the exhibition which will help cover all costs incurred by the gallery including insurance for the work during the 3 month exhibition run.

About the gallery:

Gallery Provocateur is a not for profit gallery dedicated to promoting the arts and giving back to the art community with a low commission rate and nominal fees. The gallery is located in the historical landmark building, the
Congress Theatre. The avant-garde gallery presents provoking art in an innovative ambience. The intimate setting and tantalizing art, stimulates all the senses.

About the exhibition:

The art exhibition will open the same weekend as Chicago Comic Convention C2E2 March 18-20, 2011 at Gallery Provocateur, Chicago.

Exhibition will run for 3 months. Gallery commission is 25% with the gallery proceeds being donated to JDRF juvenile diabetes research foundation for Frank Frazetta's grand daughter Jessica, who has type 1 juvenile diabetes, in hopes for a cure.

Exhibition includes, 3 month run of exhibition at gallery, 3,000 postcard mailer (postcards available for artists too), an opening weekend reception (featuring advance press review, black-tie barstaff, wine, refreshments and Hors DeOuvres'), press kits submitted to newspapers-magazines-television, live web broadcast of the reception (for overseas and long distance clients), and an online link to exhibiting artists permanently listed on the Gallery website (which receives on average of 20,000 visits a week), and last but not least...a closing reception/promotional event.


The Legendary Frank Frazetta

Frank Frazetta, the fantasy painter and illustrator whose images of sinewy warriors and lush vixens graced paperback novels, album covers and comic books for decades and became something close to the contemporary visual definition of the sword-and-sorcery genres, died on May 10th after suffering a stroke the night before. He was 82.
Final Submissions for Judging
Final Selections are posted here
Jason Engle Jojo Seames Ron Lightburn Rob Benevides Nagendra Pal Roman Ganzaba
Roman Ganzaba Rob Chope Rob Chope Leo Leibelman David Demaret Rob Chope
Patrick Cornett Tracy Flynn Mark Helwig Patrick Cornett Patrick Cornett Patrick Cornett
John "Roc" Upchurch Christopher Shy Casey Callender Christopher Shy Christopher Shy Patrick Cornett
Christopher Shy Christopher Shy Christopher Shy Christopher Shy Mark Bernal Christopher Shy
Ken Meyer Jr. Ron Lightburn Phyllis Saroff Matt Hughes Richard Kelly Richard Kelly
Cornelius Cockroft Tracy Flynn Newton Burcham J. Edwin Stevens Inaya Hodeib Rob Hassan
Rob Hassan Tracy Flynn Newton Burcham Newton Burcham Newton Burcham David Demaret
Rob Hassan Thomas Tuke Pascal Blanche

IGusti Ngurah Rai Jaya Putra

Tracy Flynn Randy Martinez
Tim Vigil Pascal Blanche Lou Baker Lou Baker Lou Baker Pascal Blanche
Halil Ural Lou Baker Pascal Blanche Roberto Garcia Lombrana Didier Normand IGusti Ngurah Rai Jaya Putra
Alan Dyson Alan Dyson Eric Wallis Alan Dyson Savvas Andrikos Gabi Weisz
Oscar Perez Eddie Davis David Wheeler Eddie Davis Scott Flanders Eric Wallis
IGusti Ngurah Rai Jaya Putra Eddie Davis Didier Normand Ryan Sulfaro Ryan Sulfaro David Wheeler
David Demaret Ryan Sulfaro Ryan Sulfaro Ryan Sulfaro Ryan Sulfaro Ryan Sulfaro
Ryan Sulfaro Scott Flanders Steven Jacques Mshindo I Ryan Sulfaro Ryan Sulfaro
Woodrow Hinton III Ed Hicks Steven Jacques
James King
Veronica Casas Simon Sherry
Niko Timbaldi James King Pascal Blanche
Jim Pavalec
James King Jim Pavalec
Jim Pavalec Jim Pavalec Sandee Pawan
Sandee Pawan
Michael Suiter Luis Nuñez de Castro
Mike Dubisch Mike Dubisch Nacho Molina
Mike Dubisch
Mike Dubisch Sandee Pawan
Mike Dubisch Mike Dubisch Cos Koniotis
Mike Dubisch
Lucas Durham D.J. Jackson
D.J. Jackson Martin Jamison Steve Thomas Martin Jamison Lucas Durham Rudy Hall
Ryan Sulfaro Dustin Seelinger Ted Woods Dustin Seelinger Ryan Sulfaro Ryan Sulfaro
Ronnie Werner Elshad Kasumov Paul Guzenko Robert Gaito Robert Gaito Robert Gaito
Wolfgang Sangmeister Alan Dyson Patrick Stacy Aaron Miller Joe Vicas Elshad Kasumov
Teodor Ajduk Aaron Miller Frank Percy Ray Womack Aaron Miller Carlos Argüello
Aaron Miller CB Sorge Jim Pavalec Robert Smith Colin Nitta Simon Anderson-Carr
Jeff Preston Eric Lofrgen Vladimir Gadjanski Vladimir Gadjanski Robert Smith Robert Smith
Frank Gressie Matthew Meyer Steve Otis Carlos Cara Daren Bader Diogo Gaudencio
Vladimir Gadjanski Vladimir Gadjanski Mark Farmer Vladimir Gadjanski Vladimir Gadjanski Martin Plsko
Justin Hampton Michael Suiter Arnaud Demaegd Arnaud Demaegd Steve Otis Carlos Cara
Steve Otis Michael Suiter Steve Otis Steve Otis Arnaud Demaegd Anna Maria Faras-Pagowska
Arnaud Demaegd Arnaud Demaegd Dominick Saponaro Daniel Guernon Arnaud Demaegd Anna Maria Faras-Pagowska
Anna Maria Faras-Pagowska Aneke Douglas Holgate G. Edwin Taylor Patrick Thomas Parnell Ray Womack
Carlos NCT Benjamin Rodahl Roman Ganzaba Robert Smith Jaime Carrillo Claudio Pozas
Ivan Christian Roman Ganzaba Rob Chope Kevin Hooker Kevin Hooker Sean Sullivan
Ray Womack Ray Womack Maik Schmidt Donald Husband Robert Smith Alberto Dal Lago
Julia Ong Xavier Lara J.S. Choi Tony Steele Doug Keith Donald Husband
Rob Chope Larry Brogan Matt Dixon Matt Dixon Kenneth Kvamme Rob Chope
Steve Howard Colin Throm Halil Ural Tim Vigil Halil Ural Milos Slavkovic
Scott Flanders Thomas Tuke Thomas Tuke Thomas Tuke Dyann Callahan Matt Dixon
Rick Png Carlos Argüello Mae Lynn Wolertz Mae Lynn Wolertz Michael Suiter Jeff Herndon
Gulkan Boke Munya Vomo Joel Frock Jeff Herndon Jeff Herndon Joel Frock
Oliver Meinerding Jorge Farfan Mae Lynn Wolertz Dave Dorman Scott Flanders Diosdado Mondero
Nikole Jones Arnaud Demaegd Arnaud Demaegd Arnaud Demaegd Arnaud Demaegd Arnaud Demaegd
Rob Hassan Bruno Stahl Bruno Stahl Scott Flanders Heather Carr Scott Flanders
Dyann Callahan Francisco Flores Jennifer Kearney Sinisa Banovic Newton Burcham Dyann Callahan
Sinisa Banovic         Sinisa Banovic